Cairo Design Award 2018


With the launch of the Cairo Design Award this year, we have chosen to focus on six different design categories covering a diverse array of projects. Entries will be accepted in the following categories set out in the criteria and guidelines below:

The Process


Designers are requested to submit their designs to meet the criteria and specific guidelines set for each category/sub-category by the announced deadline. Incomplete entries or submissions beyond the due date will not be considered.



The submitter is allowed and encouraged to make more than one submission, there is no restriction on the number of new separate submissions per submitter; a new submission fee must be paid for each submission. 
The submitter must choose to submit their design under the correct type and accordingly pay the corresponding submission fee as below:

  • Early Bird Submission Fees:
    *Valid until September 1st, 2018
  • Individual and team/company of designers Under 30 Years of Age*
    (at the time of submission)
    EGP 500
  • Individual and team/company of designers Above 30 Years of Age*
    (at the time of submission)
    EGP 1000
  • Submission Fees:
    *After September 1st, 2018
  • Individual and team/company of designers Under 30 Years of Age*
    (at the time of submission)
    EGP 1000
  • Individual and team/company of designers Above 30 Years of Age*
    (at the time of submission)
    EGP 2000

Upon submission, a payment code is provided for each submission you make; please make sure to include the submission payment code provided for your submission next to the submitter name (First and Last Name) in the payment slip/transfer form in order to verify your payment.

*Proof of age is requested: a scanned copy of the applicant’s national ID or passport with the date of birth indicated as well as the payment code provided upon submission must be sent by email to qualify for “Under 30 Years”.

All paid submission fees are non-refundable once the submission is confirmed.

Payment Details


To preserve anonymity and impartiality – before the independent judging process – all submissions are automatically marked as ‘anonymous’ by the online submission system to guarantee a fair, reliable and credible outcome.

Cairo Design Award is honored to have a distinguished panel of jurors for all six design categories. Each jury member will head the panel in an elaborate deliberation process, in his/her own particular area of expertise, for all six primary design categories (and their corresponding subcategories).

Designers will submit their innovations and creative designs within the announced categories each year. The work and projects submitted will be assessed in accordance with each category’s published guidelines by a distinguished jury panel according to established evaluation and selection criteria.

This jury deliberation process will be conducted in three filtration levels for all CDA 2018 categories (and their corresponding subcategories)

Level 1: Evaluation of all qualified submissions and selection of twenty (20) entries per each subcategory.
Level 2: Shortlist of five (5) finalists per each subcategory.
Level 3: Final selection of three (3) CDA winners (gold, silver, and bronze) for each subcategory in all six awards’ categories to be announced during CDA ceremony event.

The jury will only evaluate complete entries, which successfully meet the specified criteria and guidelines for each category/sub-category, as well as confirmed payment.

On occasion, some applicants may be contacted to submit further data for evaluation.


All submissions are reviewed by the jury and the top five submissions will be selected for shortlisting.
Shortlisted designers will be notified by email and significantly, invited to attend the special marketing, networking and promotional opportunity that is the Cairo Design Award ceremony event.


Winners will be announced during the unique Cairo Design Award ceremony mega event only. Winners will be also awarded the specially designed and prestigious CDA trophy in front of the invited guests and industry VIPs on the night.

Three winners (Gold, Silver, and Bronze) are awarded in each category/sub-category according to their final evaluation.